GR Travels

Sri Krishna Temple

The Krishna Matha was founded by the Vaishnavite saint Shri Madhwacharya in the 13th century. He was the founder of the Dvaita school of Vedanta. It is believed that Madhwacharya found the murti of Sri Krishna in a large ball of gopichandana. As told by Sri Madhwacharya, in his Tantrasara Sangraha, the murti is placed Pashchimabhimukha. All the other murtis in other Ashta mutts are facing Western side as well. Once Kanakadasa, a pious worshipper and devotee of Lord Krishna, was staying in a makeshift hermitage in front of Krishna mutt. Despite him being a ardent devotee of Lord Krishna, he was not allowed to enter the temple as he was an untouchable. However, pleased with his devoutness, the idol facing the direction of east turned to west and there was a crack in the wall wide enough for Kanakadasa to have darshana of the murti. Even today the devotees worship Lord Krishna through this window. It is known as Kanakanakhindi, and is decorated by an arch named after him. A statue has also been erected. A similar window covers the immediate front of the murti and is called Navagraha kindi. It is often mistaken to be Kanakana kindi. The temple opens by 5.30 in the morning. The unique feature of the temple is that the deity is worshipped through the silver plated window with nine holes (Navagraha kindi). The temple also offers prasadam (lunch) in the noon.      Book Now

Kapu Beach

Kaup (often pronounced as Kapu in the local Tulu language), is a town in Udupi district of Karnataka, India. It lies on the way between Udupi and Mangalore beside National Highway 66 (previously NH-17). A road from Kaup goes to interior places like Manchakal and Shirva. It is 13 km south of Udupi (a town famous for its ancient Krishna Temple) and 40 km north of Mangalore (a port). It is famous for its lighthouse and the three Mariamma temples and a fort built by Tippu Sultan. There is a beach on the shore of the Arabian Sea and a lighthouse. Many films have been shot at this location. Kaup has three Marigudi which attracts devotees from far away places. The sea is much more rougher and intimidating compared to the gentler Malpe beach in Udupi. It is about 15 km from Manipal and is a favorite hangout for students. The beach also sports a shack and a bar with seating in the open sky. Though the sea is mostly calm all year round, there have been isolated cases of drowning in this beach At a distance of 47 Kms from Udupi & 17 Kms from Hebri, Kudlu Teertha Falls is a picturesque waterfall located in deep jungles of Western Ghats near Hebri. This waterfall is also known as Sita Falls. This place is also a good trekking destination.       Book Now

Someshwara Beach

It is a small city about 8 to10 km south of Mangalore city center close to the border between the two southern states of Karnataka and Kerala. The Mangalore International Airport is 24 km away from Ullal. It comprises two revenue divisions, Ullal and Permannur, in Mangalore Taluk. Ullal is adjacent to City Corporation of Mangalore, 10 km from District headquarters - Mangalore. Most of the people in Ullal belong to either Beary or Mogaveera ethnic group It is very famous for historic locations like Sayyid Muhammad Shareeful Madani Darga, Sri Cheerumba Bagavathi Temple, Someshwara Temple, Someshwar Beach, Kadapara jara Darga, Summer Sands Beach Resort, Queen Abbakka Chowta.The beach is undiscovered by tourists and therefore in a pristine condition. The endless golden sands are ideal for walking or sunbathing. Someshwara beach is famous for large rocks on the beach called Rudra Shile. During high tide, the sight of waves dashing against the rocks evokes a feeling of awe for the power of Nature One can climb the Ottinene hillock for a grand view of the Netravati River winding its way to the sea through mangroves. This hillock has lush vegetation and a number of medicinal plants grow naturally here. The Government has announced plans of developing a park for medicinal plants here. This park, to be called Kshithij Nisargadhama, is approachable from Someshwara beach.      Book Now

Holy Rosary Church

The Holy Rosary Church is situated at the Heart of the city. The territory includes important places like Shri Meenakshiamman Temple, Periyar Bus stand, Railway Junction. From Vaigai River, the southern Boundary extends up to Madurai Airport. In 1592, the Jesuits started their Madurai Mission with a small chapel of Our Lady, ministered by Fr. Fernandez. Robert De Nobili and Joseph Beschi followed him. From a letter of 1763 we learn that Yousuf Khan, opposing the English, had with him 400 French Soldiers (Catholics) for whom a beautiful church was built near the West Gate. 1770 onwards a Jesuit Missionary was serving the people around this Rosary Church. After the suppression of the Society in 1773, this church was in the hands of Padroado Priests. In 1939 Fr. Yuvenat started the school. In 1966 Fr. De Cruz took in charge of the parish and built the new church according to the liturgical renewal emanated from second Vatican Council. In 1967 the Novena to Our Lady of Perpetual Help was started. The new presbytery was built by Fr. Joseph Xavier. The parish has 4 substations namely, Solaialagupuram, Perungudi, St. Antony Street and Simmakkal. There are about 380 Catholic families living here. Rev. Fr. Angel is the parish priest and the Vicar Forane of Madurai South Vicariate.      Book Now

GR Travels

Our Other Links



       No:6/4A Kazimar street,
       Main Road,Tamilnadu,
       Madurai - 625001.


  • +91-984 351 8435 (whatsapp)