GR Travels

Devaranya Durga

The temple, built in the Dravidian style of architecture, faces east and is said to have been constructed by Kanthirava Narasaraja I, king of Mysore. From the inscriptions numbered Tumkur 41 and 42, we learn that the enclosure and tower were repaired in 1858 by the Mysore king Krishnaraja Wodeyar III.[citation needed] A south Indian automobile company has helped in the improvement and maintenance of the temple environs. BhogaNarasimha temple is at the base of the hill and Yoga Narasimha temple is on top of the hill. Temple of Yoga Narasimha Yoga Narasimha Swamy Temple, Devarayana Durga On the third elevation stands, facing east, a temple of Narasimha, known as the Kumbhi. This Narasimha temple consists of a Garbhagriha, a sukanasi, a navagraha and a mukhamantapa and is similar to the plan of the temple below. In addition to the temple there are three sacred ponds or Kalyani here known as Narasimha-teertha, Parasara-teertha and Pada-teertha. There is also another temple, said to be older than Lakshmi Narasimha swamy, dedicated to Hanuman, also known as Sanjivaraya, who stands with folded hands. Higher up above is a small shrine of Garuda. On Easter hill are located travelerís bungellow and other guest houses.      Book Now



GoravanaHalli Mahalakshmi Temple

Goravanahalli is famous for Goravanahalli Mahalakshmi temple. Goravanahalli Mahalakshmi temple is dedicated to goddess Mahalakshmi. It is believed that the idol of Shri Mahalakshmi is self- originated. Goddess Mahalakshmi is known as goddess of wealth and prosperity. The history of this temple is that, Abbayya, a poor man, was blessed with the idol of Goddess Mahalakshmi. After worshipping Goddess Mahalakshmi at home, Abbayya became rich. He started doing charity works and his home was called Lakshmi Nivasa. Later, Abbayya brother Thodappa joined Abbayya in his charity work. After the death of Abbayya, Thodappa was performing poojas to the Goddess. He was asked by Goddess Lakshmi in his dreams to build a shrine for her. Hence, Thodappa built a temple for Goddess Lakshmi. After Thodappa, Chowdayya started performing poojas but from the year 1910, the temple fell into a neglected state. In the year 1925, Kamalamma, a devotee, on arriving at Goravanahalli, saw the neglected state of the temple. She started performing the poojas for the Goddess. Then again after a year, the temple got into a neglected state, when she left the place. In 1952, Kamalamma was back in Goravanahalli and settled there. After this, regular poojas were performed by Kamalamma. People wait in queue for the darshan of Shri Mahalakshmi. In due time, temple attained fame by word of mouth. Tuesdays and Fridays are considered as very auspicious days in this temple and lot of people visit the temple in these days of the week. Lakshadeepotsava is one of the revered religious programmers during the month called Karthika maasa. Apart from Mahalakshmi, there are also shrines of Goddess Marikamba and Manchala Nagappa, the snake god in Goravanahalli. Goravanahalli temple is all surrounded by greenery and Theetha reservoir is nearby. People after visiting the temple, go for walk around Theetha reservoir. Theetha reservoir is built for Suvarnamukhi river and it is also one of the attractions of the place. Special poojas are performed on Fridays. Mahalakshmi Homa, Kumkumarchane, Shashvatha Pooja,Chandi Homa, Panchamruta Abhisheka Seva, Tulabhara Seva, Namakarana Seva, Akshara Abhyasa Seva are the special poojas performed in this temple.      Book Now



Siddaganga Mutt

The history of Sree Siddaganga Mutt starts from 14th century. The Holy names associated with the establishment and the growth of the Mutt is as follows; Sree Hardanahalli Gosala Siddeshwara Swamigalu (c1300 - 1350) Sree Hardanahalli Shankaracharya Swamigalu (c1393) Sree Hardanahalli Gosala Channabasavarajendra Swamigalu Sree Tontada Siddalingeshwara Swamiji (c1400 - 1480A.D.) Sree Haradanahalli Gosala Siddeshwara was the 15th in the order of peetacharya (Head of Mutt) of Niranjana Jagadguru. He handed over his headship to the next peetacharya in Haradanahalli and went to Shivaganga with his 101 followers to create his own independent place for his religious work. Then he moved to a hill near Keta Samudra (now Kyathasandra) from Shivaganga. He created 101 caves for his followers for study and meditation and also established the Mutt at Siddaganga. To quench the thirst of one of his aged disciple Sree Gosala Siddesshwara hit the rock and a stream of water came out of that rock. The holy water was named as "Siddaganga" and the name was thus given to this place. This holy water has power to heal the mental and physical ailments and is allowed to be used by all communities.      Book Now


GR Travels

Our Other Links



Home
About
Contact

Address


  • GR TRAVELS
       No:6/4A Kazimar street,
       Main Road,Tamilnadu,
       Madurai - 625001.

Contact


  • +91-984 351 8435 (whatsapp)
       +91-9843518435
       +91-9786885353
  • grtourtaxi@gmail.com