GR Travels

Seaview Predator Park

Seaview Predator Park is a privately owned, 120 hectare animal park, overlooking the sea in the beautiful area of Seaview, just west of Port Elizabeth. Seaview Predator Park invites you to become part of the pride, as you come face to fur with our lions, tigers, and many other beautiful wild animals. Self drive through the park in your own vehicle (4X4 vehicles not needed) and youre bound to see our giraffe, zebra or buck just near your car. Seaview Predator Park promotes conservation by rehabilitating wild animals and birds, which are housed in our sanctuary area. Enjoy a light meal or refreshments at our hilltop restaurant or make use of our self catering braai/ picnic area. Our lions are are fed every Sunday, at 12 noon, for public viewing. Seaview Predator Park is open daily, except Christmas Day, from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. JULY SCHOOL HOLIDAY SPECIAL: Kids under the age of 10 (1 per adult) qualify for free entrance into the Park during the holidays. So, if there are 2 adults, 2 kids under the age of 10 will qualify for free admission. Offer valid until 17 July, 2016.      Book Now



Gundert Bungalow

Gundert Bungalow was the residence of Dr. Herman Gundert, the German Missionary, who became a member of the Basal Mission in 1934. Dr. Herman Gundert was born in Stuttgart and arrived in India as a Christian missionary. On 27th February 1839, he shifted to Illikunnu, a place near Thalassery, and resided there for more than two decades. Dr.Herman Gundert completed the first Malayalam dictionary during the period extending between 1839 and 1859, while he was living in the Gundert Bungalow. The bungalow is also associated with the publishing of the Paschimodayam, the oldest Malayalam newspaper. The site was later transformed into a technical training institute imparting skills and knowledge to the residents of the region. The bungalow has typical colonial mansion style architecture and a wide veranda and several carved doorways. The Gundert Bungalow was once the residence of Mr. Thomas Stench, the earlier judicial magistrate of Thalassery. The bungalow was donated by him to the Basal Mission for its humanitarian services. The site also published Rajyasamacharam, the first Malayalam newspaper, in 1847 and also started a school in 1939.      Book Now



Odathil Palli Mosque

Odathil Palli is situated in the city of Thalassery in the district of Kannur. The city is known as Paris of Malabar since it was the only French base in the western coast. When the British won the Seven Years War, the base fell into the hands of the British. In order to praise Mosakakas worthiness they presented him with a sugarcane plantation, where he built a mosque. Since the materials were brought in a boat, which is known as odam in Malayalam, the mosque is known as Odathil Palli (mosque is palli in Malayalam).The Odathil Palli Mosque is a 500 year old mosque located near the old bus stand in Thalassery, Kannur district of Kerala. Situated at the heart of Thalassery, this mosque was built by an Arab merchant in a typical Kerala Hindu temple style. The mosque which has neither domes nor minarets is not open to non Muslims. Odathil Palli, half a kilometre from the Thalassery fort, is one of the ancient mosques at Thalassery. The mosque owes its origins to Chowakkaran Moosakkaka, who was a commission agent of the East India Company. He was a leading spice merchant of the time and the wood to construct the shrine was gifted to him by the erstwhile Travancore King. He sent the materials as well as the workers in an odam, a kind of boat, to Thalassery, and that is why the mosque came to be known as Odathil Palli. The construction of the mosque was in typical Kerala architecture style. The roof is covered with copper sheets. The woodwork on the walls and pillars are worth a close look.      Book Now



Thiruvangadu Sree Rama Temple

Thiruvangadu Sree Rama Temple is one of the four Sree Rama temples in Kerala which is two kilometers away from Railway station, Thalassery. This temple is unique due to its historical and legendary importance. The all benevolent diety Sree Ramaswamy is known as Thiruvangad Perumal who is the supreme force of southern Thattakam among the five dieties of Kolath nadu which is also known as Iemperumalidam. Devotees fervently call the diety Ente Thiruvangadu Perumale in their dire needs. The copper plated Sree kovil,the sanctum sanctorum and adjoining areas are best examples of kerala temple architectural arts also known as vaasthu kala. The temple structure is rich in traditional classic wood works and mural paintings. These wood crafts are based on poetic imageries of the epic Ramayana. These wood crafts are best example of kerala wood craft tradititons. This temple idol is believed to be consecrated and installed by the great saint Parasuraman.But legends say that the temple was installed by Swetha Muni, the desciple of Agasthya Muni. The sanscrit translation of thiruvangad is Swetharanya puram which originated from the name of Swethamuni Another opinion is that Swetha kethu, the great shaiva upanishath guru is the swethamuni in the legends. This temple has a unique place in the socio political history of north Kerala.      Book Now



Thalassery Fort

Thalassery Fort 22 km from the land of the exotic art form of theyyam in the Northern district of Kannur is the small town of Thalassery. In this town stands an imposing historical monument the Thalassery Fort. The East India Company which had established its settlement on the Malabar Coast in 1683 built the monument as a testimonial of their colonial imperialism in 1703. The fort was once the nucleus of Thalassery development. The imposing square fort has massive walls, huge, intricately carved doors and secret tunnels to the sea all in all, the perfect setting for you to get an authentic taste of some local history and heritage. The East India Company authorities came to Thalassery in 1683 and started a godown or warehouse here. At that time, the land was ruled by the Kolathiris, and with their permission, the British built a small fort on a small hill called Tiruvellapadkunnu. In 1708, they strengthened the fort. The fort helped the British to establish a stronghold in Malabar and in 1776, the British made it their administrative centre. The fort, though originally established as a godown for cardamom and pepper, became a strategic centre for the military activities of the British. It was there that Arthur Wellesley planned out his strategy to fight the great warrior, Pazhassi Raja. During the 1780s, when Hyder Ali tried to conquer Malabar, the fort witnessed more fighting and bloodshed. After Independence, the fort housed many government offices. Later, recognizing its historical significance, it was handed over to the Department of Archaeology, its present custodian.      Book Now


GR Travels

Our Other Links



Home
About
Contact

Address


  • GR TRAVELS
       No:6/4A Kazimar street,
       Main Road,Tamilnadu,
       Madurai - 625001.

Contact


  • +91-984 351 8435 (whatsapp)
       +91-9843518435
       +91-9786885353
  • grtourtaxi@gmail.com